“So great has been the endurance, so incredible the achievement that, as long as the sun keeps a set course in heaven, it would be foolish to despair of the human race.”
— Ernest Woodward, Publisher

 

Did you ever just have “one of those days” with people in general?  I consider myself a people-person…I get a charge out of being around people and will usually look for opportunities to put groups of people together.

So, it might surprise you to know that I have lots of times where I feel like if I just get ONE MORE VOICEMAIL that day, I’m gonna’ blow a gasket.  I’m not exactly sure why this has become such a powerful feeling for me.  Maybe it’s just that I sometimes feel pulled in so many directions that each call-back request represents one more item on an already lengthy “to-do list”.

A couple of small things have helped me…

1). Act upon each situation as it arises individually–that ONE person is looking for a response.  I don’t have to respond to the entire human race all at once.  EVERYBODY doesn’t need me to do something right now. 

2). RE-NAME the right “Voicemail” light on my desk phone.  Frankly, I HATE voicemail.  I would almost rather do anything than sit and check voicemail.  Just seeing the little red light on fires off a cascade of unpleasant electrical impulses in my brain.  HOWEVER, in a business like lending, it’s a part of every day.  I can either choose to get out of the business, have someone else always deal with the red light for me (that’s viable, for sure), or re-anchor that alert to mean something pleasurable.  I’ve chosen to re-name the little red voicemail alert in my brain as the “Opportunity Light”.  Any time I walk back into my office and the red light is on, I consciously say, “Opportunity light!”.

This might seem kind of goofy, but, as Tony Robbins has taught, it creates a “pattern interrupt” and helps to create a new, resourceful association (or ANCHOR).

I have found that my own personal feeling about everything that surrounds my voicemail has improved.  I sit down and enter a more resourceful energy state before I even listen to the messages.

Do you have similar feelings or other helpful strategies?  I’d love to hear about them…

Make it a great day!

Jacob “The Jackalope” Nordby

